GOD’S GIFT

One day when God felt generous, 
He looked down at me and smiled, 
“Since I feel so magnanimous, 
I’d like to give you something, child”. 

He asked me what I wanted, 
I said, “Oh, really nothing more, 
You’ve done so much already.” 
He said, “That’s what God is for.” 

“You have been pretty good,” He said, 
I know there’s not much you seek, 
I will pick a little something, 
Just to make your life complete.” 

With great anticipation, 
I looked forward to my gift, 
Wondered what God had in mind, 
That would give me such a lift. 

“This gift,” God said, “You realize, 
Bears some responsibility, 
So, if you accept my present, 
You must be willing to agree… 

“To offer unconditionally, 
A section or a part, 
Of more than half of you, 
The larger portion of your heart.” 

“Okay, God,” I answered, 
“Since in You, I always trust, 
I’ll meet your obligation, 
In the manner that I must.” 

Myself, I thought, wow, what a gift, 
For so much of me, God’s asked, 
Now what could be so valuable? 
That my share was more than half? 

With both hands I sought my gift, 
I still did not have a clue, 
Then God put your hand in mine, 
And said His gift to me was YOU! 

Have you ever lost a friend? 
Who meant the world to you? 
One you loved so very much 
And miss him like I do? 

If heaven had a number 
I would call you on the phone, 
To tell how much I miss you 
And ask you to come home.

Leave a Reply

